Totenweg
 - Romy Fölck - Hardcover

Bastei Lübbe
mystery novel
Hardcover
412 pages
Ages 16+
ISBN: 978-3-7857-2622-8
Release Date: 23.02.2018

DEATH LANE

A sophisticated thriller in an atmospheric setting

A brutal assault on an autumn night, possibly an attempted homicide, has left police officer Frida Paulsen’s father in a coma. Frida returns to her home village and her parents’ fruit farm. Ever since they sent her to a boarding school she has had barely any contact with them. At the farm, she once again meets chief detective Bjarne Haverkorn who is handling the investigation of her father’s case and is now nearing retirement.

Almost 20 years have passed since their last encounter when Frida’s best friend, Marit, was found strangled in the old cattle shed on Totenweg (Death Lane). Although the perpetrator was never apprehended, even at the time Haverkorn suspected that 13-year-old Frida had not come clean with him about the killing. Now she was back; a police officer and student at the police academy, and still silent. Haverkorn begins looking into the old case again which has always been at the back of his mind.

Frida takes a leave of absence from the police academy and assumes responsibility for managing the fruit farm while her father remains in a coma. Returning to the village is difficult: the autumn storms, leading an isolated life in the country surrounded by dikes, marshes, and thatched-roof houses. It seems that her old guilt will suffocate her here, namely, that she knows who killed Marit but has never told anyone.

The first book in a new mystery series

Lead title in our Spring 2018 program

English sample translation available

For readers of Nele Neuhaus