Der Attentäter
 - Ulf Schiewe - Taschenbuch

Lübbe Belletristik
historical novels
Pocket Book
509 pages
Ages 16+
ISBN: 978-3-404-17903-9
Release Date: 27.11.2019

The Assassin

A historical thriller about the murder of Franz-Ferdinand, heir to the Austrian throne

June 1914. There have been repeated political crises in recent years, but most people still have no idea what is brewing in Europe. The major European powers are competing against one another. The German emperor is expanding his fleet, which is particularly worrisome for England. France and Germany are quarrelling over Alsace-Lorraine and, in a general sense, many Frenchmen harbour thoughts of revenge for the Franco-Prussian War. Russia sympathizes with Serbia's Pan-Slavic aspirations - much to the annoyance of Austria, which annexed Bosnia-Herzegovina a few years earlier. In the Balkans, where the Ottoman Empire is in retreat, and Serbia is pursuing ambitious goals, there are mighty rumblings. Uprisings, student unrest, and even assassinations are not uncommon. All it will take is a single spark to ignite the powder keg. So when Franz-Ferdinand, heir to the Austrian throne, and his wife, Sophie, are assassinated in Sarajevo, the keg explodes. A once-in-a century event with far-reaching consequences.

In THE ASSASSIN, Ulf Schiewe concentrates on the week leading up to the assassination. It is the week during which three young Serbs set off for Sarajevo, where Franz-Ferdinand will review a parade - and lose his life. The secret services have received advance warning and are trying to prevent the attack, but all too often their efforts come to nothing. Again and again, the tiniest coincidences prevent the apprehension of the assassins.
Ulf Schiewe provides an up-close experience of this decisive week. His concise narration and quick scene changes put us at close quarters with the protagonists. The book is riveting and exciting, even if the outcome of the story is already known.

For readers of Ken Follett and Frederick Forsyth